top of page

SP elects new chairs, members of standing committees

Legislators elected new chairs and members of certain standing committees of the 20th City Council.

During its 34th regular session presided over by Vice Mayor Jocelyn B. Rodriguez, the City Council reorganized the composition of the committee on economic enterprises, which is now chaired by Councilor Yan Lam S. Lim with Councilor Edgar S. Cabanlas, as vice-chair, and Councilor Romeo V. Calizo, Joyleen Mercedes L. Balaba, Jay R. Pascual, Roger G. Abaday, and John Michael L. Seno, as members.

Councilor Jose Pepe S. Abbu, Jr. was elected as the new chair of the committee on labor and employment, with Councilor Balaba as vice-chair, and Councilors Seno and Suzette Magtajas-Daba, members. The committee on laws and rules is now chaired by Councilor Cabanlas, while Councilor Lim, vice-chair, with Councilors Balaba, George S. Goking and Abaday, members.

Meanwhile, the committee on energy is chaired by Councilor Agapito Eriberto G. Suan with Councilor Calizo as vice-chair, and the members are Councilors Pascual, Balaba, and Imee Rose P. Moreno.

Councilor Yevonna Yacine B. Emano was elected chair of the committee on senior citizens with Councilor Abaday as vice-chair, and Councilors Maria Lourdes S. Gaane, Calizo, and Lim, members.

The committee on climate change adaptation and mitigation and disaster risk reduction is now chaired by Councilor Malvern A. Esparcia, with Councilor Seno as vice-chair, and Councilors Abaday, Lim, and Nacaya, members. The committee on fisheries and aquatic resources is chaired by Councilor Christian Rustico M. Achas, with Councilor Pascual, as vice-chair.

Councilor James K. Judith II was also elected as the new chair of the committee on arbitration, with Councilor Esparcia as vice-chair, and members are Councilors Abaday, Lim, and Seno.


bottom of page