top of page

Internship training of nursing students OK’d

The Internship Training of students in Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy, and Bachelor of Science in Nutrition and Dietetics, all of Lourdes College will soon push through.

This, after the 20th City Council headed by City Vice Mayor Jocelyn B. Rodriguez enacted an ordinance authorizing City Mayor Rolando A. Uy to enter into and sign the Contract of Affiliation with the Lourdes College for the purpose.

In his letter to the legislative body, Mayor Uy said this collaboration aims to develop the students in said private educational institution the actual experience and training in various clinical areas with the goal of producing competitive health care service providers.

It was learned that the city-owned J.R. Borja General Hospital (JRBGH) is selected as an affiliate training institution and base hospital.

Under the contract, Lourdes College shall assume responsibility for the care of the affiliates in case of illness or injury during the course of affiliation; to coordinate with the chief nurse of authorized staff on matters concerning the program of internship, training, duties, and discipline of the affiliates, convocations, and other related activities..

For its part, the city through JRBGH shall provide maximum opportunity for the affiliates to gain actual experience and training in the various clinical areas; to enforce rules and regulations regarding the admission, supervision, and training of Allied Health Program affiliates should the affiliate fail to comply with any of the regulation of the JRBGH by committing acts detrimental to the health, safety and welfare of the patients and personnel.

In dealing with patients, the JRBGH, its employees and staff, Lourdes College assures that its students, faculty and staff perform the services being rendered with reasonable care, skill and diligence.

The ordinance was sponsored by the committees on health, nutrition, and health insurance and on laws and rules respectively chaired by Councilors Maria Lourdes S. Gaane and Edgar S. Cabanlas.


bottom of page