top of page

City to ink MOA with NMMC for implementation of HCPN, CWHS

TO ensure the effective and efficient delivery of healthcare services, the city government of Cagayan de Oro will be collaborating with Northern Mindanao Medical Center (NMMC) for the implementation of Health Care Provider Network (HCPN) and City-wide Health System (CWHS) in the city.

This, after the 20th City Council, during its regular session Monday, presided over by City Vice Mayor Bebot Rodriguez, enacted an ordinance authorizing City Mayor Rolando A. Uy to enter into and sign the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with NMMC for the purpose.

The collaboration is in accordance with the Department of Health (DOH) administrative order on the guidelines for the service delivery design of HCPN, as mandated by the Universal Health Care (UHC) Act.

HCPNs may be composed of integrated local health system networks of private health care providers to complement the health services provided by public health facilities or mixed public-private networks of health providers, the Gavel learned.

It may be recalled that Mayor Uy issued an executive order designating the City Health Office (CHO), as a member of the City Health Board, to be responsible for the technical integration and supervision of the CWHS, as required under UHC.

Under the MOA, the NMMC, as an apex hospital, shall perform its responsibilities that ensure the delivery of specialty health care services not expected to be provided in HPCN/CWHS, performance mentoring, and technical assistance to the city, among others.

For its part, the city, through the CHO, shall ensure compliance with the DOH’s administrative order and other pertinent issuances, such as, but not limited to the requirements, the establishment of a patient navigation and coordination system, patient records management system, harmonized information and communication technology, medical transport system, standardized network mechanisms for operations, and financial and performance management.

The legislation was sponsored by the Committees on Health, Nutrition, and Health Insurance and Laws and Rules respectively chaired by Councilors Maria Lourdes S. Gaane and Edgar S. Cabanlas.


bottom of page