top of page

Dads approve five CSOs for LSB accreditation

The 20th City Council on its regular session Monday presided over by Vice Mayor Jocelyn B. Rodriguez adopted separate resolutions accrediting/re-accrediting five (5) Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) for purposes of their membership in the Local Special Bodies (LSB) pursuant to DILG Memorandum Circular No. 2022-083 and Article 64, Rule XIII of the Rules and Regulations Implementing the 1991 Local Government Code, or funding its project from the City or other sources as required under the COA circular pertinent thereto.

The CSOs are Zone 10 Cugman Urban Poor Livelihood Association (Zone 10 CUPLA), Makabangko Tribo sa Higaonon Abaca Farmers Association, Inc., Safer River, Life Saver, Inc. (SRLSFI), Oro Teachers and Employees Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative (OROTECC), and Youth Cooperative for Ecological Protection (YCEP).

A barangay-based organization, the Zone 10 CUPLA aims to provide security of members and livelihood and promote peace and order of the community. Among its activities include barangay-wide clean up drive, among others.

Organized on January 22, 2021, Makabangko Tribo sa Higaonon Abaca Farmers Association, Inc. will likely to engage in various activities such as feeding program and tree planting.

Meanwhile, SRLSFI was organized to positively respond to the national clamor to protect water resources from pollution.

It also aims to maximize benefits which may be derived from the river’s vast potential for the best interest of society in particular and for the common welfare of the residents in general, among others.

For its part, OROTECC campaigns for solid waste management, among others.

Finally, YCEP aims to actively support the government and other concerned organizations, both local and foreign, in promoting cooperatives on a practical means towards sustainable solid economic development under a truly just and democratic society, The Gavel learned.

The legislations were reviewed and endorsed by the committees on planning, research and innovation and people’s organization accreditation and on laws and rules both chaired by Councilor Ian Mark Q. Nacaya.


bottom of page